American Program Overview

The Islamic Educational College/American Program is a place where learning is focused on the whole student. We aspire to help students develop the skills necessary to be leaders in our society. Furthermore, we seek to produce graduates that are well-prepared for the ever-changing demands of the 21st century. To accomplish these goals we provide students with an education that is rooted in basic subjects: mathematics, science, language arts, and social studies. Additionally we offer students the chance to explore other subjects, including world languages, IT, art, music, physical education, health, and business. Across all classes, teachers emphasize the development of students’ reading and writing skills. Moreover, the use of new technologies is integrated throughout our classes. Beyond the classroom, our school provides students with several clubs and activities that help foster their development in a variety of ways and connect them to the world at large.

Our Program offers a comprehensive and robust academic program built upon the principles and standards of the American education system while keeping our children deeply connected to their heritage, language, culture and religion. Our rigid, yet flexible curricula are designed to motivate our students by the sense of responsibility to carry the message of Islam and to embrace, benefit and excel in this world to become successful lifelong learners and responsible global citizens.

In the IEC-American Program, children start school at the age of four. The first year at school is called preschool while the second year at school is called kindergarten. The third year at school is considered the first year of elementary school and is referred to as first grade. In American programs, the word grade has two meanings: (1) the score achieved on an exam or in a course, and (2) a year of education in elementary or secondary school. Elementary school most commonly consists of five years of education, referred to as first through fifth grades. Upon completion of fifth grade (the last year of elementary school), children enrolled in the American Program System advance to middle school which consists of three years referred to as sixth through ninth grades. Secondary school most commonly consists of a total of four years, referred to as sixth through twelfth grades. The ninth through twelfth grades are most commonly referred to as high school. The following terms are used to describe students in grades 9-12; confusingly, they are also used for college undergraduates.

Freshman: Grade 9, or first year of college

Sophomore: Grade 10, second year of college

Junior: Grade 11, third year of college

Senior: Grade 12, fourth year of college.

Upon completion of twelfth grade, students are awarded a certificate called the high school diploma (HSD). In the American Program System, students must have obtained a high school diploma before they are admitted into a technical or vocational institution, a two-year community or junior college, or a four-year college or university.